Previous Issues


Classes for October 2017

HSLS offers classes on database searching, software applications such as Prezi, bibliographic management, and molecular biology and genetics. For more information, visit the online class calendar.

Classes are held on the first floor of Falk Library (200 Scaife Hall) in Classroom 1 and on the upper floor of the library in Classroom 2. All classes are open to faculty, staff, and students of the University of Pittsburgh. They are also open to UPMC residents and fellows, who will need to show their UPMC IDs.

Classes marked with an asterisk (*) qualify for American Medical Association Category 2 continuing education credit.

Class schedules are subject to change. Please consult the online class calendar for the most current information and links to registration.

HSLS CLASSES

Advanced PowerPoint for Presentations (Falk Library Classroom 2)

Monday, October 23 10-11:30 a.m.

Crafting a Data Management Plan (Webinar)

Friday, October 13 12-1 p.m.

EndNote Basics (Falk Library Classroom 2)

Tuesday, October 17 10 a.m.-noon

Infographics: Communicating Information Visually (Webinar)

Monday, October 16 11 a.m.-noon

Introduction to Tableau for Data Visualization (Falk Library Classroom 2)

Tuesday, October 3 11 a.m.-noon

Locating and Citing Research Data (Falk Library Classroom 2)

Thursday, October 19 3-4 p.m.

Painless PubMed* (Falk Library Classroom 1)

Thursday, October 12 4-5 p.m.
Wednesday, October 25 8-9 a.m.

PowerPoint for Conference Posters (Falk Library Classroom 2)

Thursday, October 5 1:30-3:30 p.m.

Searching for Dollars: Grant Seeking to Support Research (Webinar)

Monday, October 2 1-2 p.m.

Showcasing Your Research Impact (Falk Library Classroom 1)

Wednesday, October 11 1-2 p.m.

MOLECULAR BIOLOGY INFORMATION SERVICE

Variant Detection & Analysis: CLC Genomics, Ingenuity Variant Analysis, & more (Falk Library Classroom 2)

Wednesday, October 4 1-4 p.m.

RNA-Seq Analysis: CLC Genomics Workbench (Falk Library Classroom 2)

Wednesday, October 11 1-4 p.m.

Pathway Visualization: ePath3D, ChemDraw, & Cytoscape (Falk Library Classroom 2)

Wednesday, October 18 1-4 p.m.

CUSTOMIZED CLASSES

Customized classes can be developed for your department, course, or other group.

Posted in the October 2017 Issue